Picture
Today for lunch I went to an Indian restaurant in Roppongi called Diya. Diya is a buffet of Indian food. The buffet has about five curries. Three of them are quite mild, so good for kids and adults who, like my mom, don't really like spicy food. At the buffet they also have saffron rice and salad. Naan bread is delivered to your table piping hot. In the entrance to the restaurant, they have a table with tons of spices and lentils for decoration (see picture). It is very pretty and I think you should really look at it closely, because it is very interesting. At lunch it is the buffet, but at dinner it has a menu. I prefer the buffet because you can take as many different curries as you want, and if you're like me that will be a lot.

Picture
The decor in the restaurant is a bit traditional Indian and a bit modern, as you can tell by the statue contrasting with the lights in stripes on the bottom of the table. Since it is in the busy Roppongi area, it is quite noisy. The spice table at the entrance, again, is a really nice touch and gets you excited for the meal. At lunch it is quite casual, but at dinner it is very fancy, and you should be prepared for a completely different atmosphere then there is at lunch. If you want to go to Diya, then here is the address: Roppongi Hills Hillside B1F, 6-10-1 Roppongi, Minato-ku, Tokyo 106-6106

Picture
Today I chose three curries: Butter chicken, dahl and vegetable. The butter chicken had a delicious sauce that I really loved, and the chicken was very flavorful. The dahl curry was a bit watery, and you couldn't really taste the lentils. The vegetable curry was lovely, tasting of carrots and chicken, even though there was no chicken in it. My favorite of the curries was probably the vegetable. What I don't really like is the fact that none of the curries were even moderately spicy, and I like some spice in my curry. Other than that and the watery dahl, I loved this restaurant. If you want yummy Indian food but don't want spice, then go to Diya!

Laurie
9/23/2012 08:55:35 am

I agree Sylvan, this is a perfect place for families with kids who want to try a less spicy variety of indian food. The yummy nan kept coming to refill our basket, which is a big benefit! You can park for free at Roppongi Hills too if you get your ticket stamped, so a good rainy day activity.

Reply
Sara
9/25/2012 08:12:08 pm

looks good!

Reply
Pattio
10/1/2012 02:20:14 am

Sylvan--I look forward to reading your blog on a daily basis. It keeps me happy, entertained and informed--and busy too, planning my next trip to Tokyo. The Tokyo Board of Tourism (if it exists) should thank you in a big way. Pattio

Reply



Leave a Reply.